Petersburgh's Main Street Bridge over the Little Hoosic River was a silent witness to the lives of Petersburghers and Frank and Myrtle Church's extended family for some seventy-odd years until its recent replacement. Even then, after decades of weathering, along with the high water of spring snow melt and the occasional flood, the tough old girl with her cracked, spalling and patched concrete didn't easily yield to the wrecker's ball. The simple reinforced concrete arch, anchored at each end into the glacial bedrock, was a picturesque landmark that seemed a natural extension of the surrounding landscape of the steep hill above and the ancient water-scoured rock in the falls below.
The spindled cement railing along both sides of the bridge was the perfect backdrop for leaning on while engaged in an unhurried conversation between neighbors, and just the right height for sitting and watching the river on a warm summer's day...or for the adventurous, jumping into the damned-up pool on the other side!
E-mail your favorite "bridge" photos to firstname.lastname@example.org for inclusion on this page!
Church Home || Genealogy || Frank & Myrtle's Page || Frank & Myrtle's Family || 1934 Church Reunion || 1913 Petersburg School Class || Archives and Vintage Photo Gallery || Poetry Page || West Grafton School || Church History in Petersburgh || 50th Wedding Anniversaries || Visiting Frank & Myrtle
Church Family of Petersburgh, NY featuring descendants of Frank and Myrtle